COVID-19 Study

Community Advisory Board

Community engagement is critical to this study’s success, including the establishment of a Community Advisory Board (CAB). This group is comprised of representatives from communities across Dallas and Tarrant counties. CAB members provide essential input, designed to help:

  • Raise awareness of the DFW COVID-19 Prevalence Study among community members and leaders
  • Motivate community members to respond positively, if invited to participate
  • Show legitimacy of the study through transparency and design of communication tools (website, media communications, recruitment materials, etc.)
  • Disseminate interim and final study findings through multiple channels to reach our large and diverse population

2020 Community Advisory Board Members:

Kelvin Baggett, M.D., M.P.H., M.P.A.
City of Dallas

Lillie Biggins
Former Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth

Froswa' Booker-Drew, Ph.D.
State Fair of Texas

Roseangela Boyd, Ph.D.
Texas Christian University

Joel Burns
Former Fort Worth City Council Member

Pastor Richie Butler
St. Luke "Community" United Methodist Church

John Carlo, M.D.
PRISM Health North Texas

Fernando Costa
City of Fort Worth

Duane Dankesreiter
Dallas Regional Chamber

Reverend Ralph W. Emerson Jr.
Rising Star Baptist Church

Florencia Velasco Fortner
The Concilio

Karla Garcia
Dallas Independent School District – District 4

Eugene Giovannini
Tarrant County College District

Philip Huang, M.D., M.P.H.
Dallas County Health and Human Services

Michael Jacobson
Greater Arlington Chamber of Commerce

Leah King
United Way of Tarrant County

Leonor Marquez, MBA, LCSW
Los Barrios Unidos Community Clinic

Mark Masepohl
Univision Dallas

Andy Miller
Texas Health Institute

Rosa Navejar
The Rios Group

Alice Robinson
Dallas Tenants Association

Emma Rodgers
Dallas Civil Rights Museum

Joel Rodriguez
Catholic Diocese of Fort Worth

Kent Scribner, Ph.D.
Fort Worth Independent School District

Michael Sorrell, Ed.D.
Paul Quinn College

Ashley Thompson
Ash Hunt PR

Linda Valdez-Thompson
DFW International Airport

Rocky Vaz
City of Dallas

Jill Waggoner, M.D.
Potter’s House

Gerrie Whitaker
North Texas Area Community Health Centers Inc.

Grace White, MSN, RN, APHN-BC
My Health My Resources (MHMR) of Tarrant County