Ray Fowler, M.D.

Ray Fowler, M.D.

  • James M. Atkins, M.D. Distinguished Professorship in Emergency Medical Services
  • Emergency Medicine


RAYMOND L. FOWLER, M.D., FACEP, DABEMS, is Chief of the Division of Emergency Medical Services in the Department of Emergency Medicine, where he is Professor of Emergency Medicine, Emergency Medical Services, Health Professions, and Emergency Medical Education.

He has been involved in EMS as a leading educator, author, medical director, and political advocate for almost four decades, being widely-regarded as an outstanding lecturer and a public leader in the field of EMS. He served as President of the Georgia College of Emergency Physicians and as a perennial member (since 1980) of the State of Georgia EMS Advisory Council.  He was a founding member of the National Association of EMS Physicians, the subspecialty organization for Emergency Medical Services, where he served as the association's second elected President.  He was also co-founder and senior faculty member of the National EMS Medical Director's Course for 25 years.

In addition to his work in EMS, Dr. Fowler has been a practicing emergency physician for some 37 years, during which time he has also served as an emergency department medical director and manager. Today, he remains one of the most popular and respected emergency physicians of his generation and a legendary leader in medical education and clinical quality improvement efforts.

In October 2013 Dr. Fowler became the first physician at UT Southwestern to successfully challenge the new subspecialty boards in Emergency Medical Services Medicine, offered under the auspices of the American Board of Emergency Medicine.

Internet websites hosting Dr. Fowler's work include:





See More

Education & Training
  • Medical School - Medical College of Georgia (1973-1976)
  • Internship - Eugene Talmadge Memorial Hospital (1977-1978), General Surgery
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American College of Emergency Physicians (1980)
  • Texas College of Emergency Physicians (2001)
  • National Association of EMS Physicians (1984)
  • State of Georgia EMS Medical Directors Council (1981)
  • Georgia College of Emergency Physicians (1980)
  • Dallas County Medical Society (2005)
Honors & Awards
  • Texas State EMS Medical Director of the Year 2005, Texas Department of State Health Services
  • John B. O'Neal Award for Georgia EMS Pioneer Award 2003, Georgia State EMS Services
  • Michael Copass Award for Outstanding Achievement in EMS 2003, U.S. Metropolitan EMS Medical Directors
  • Keith Neely Award for Outstanding Service to the National Association of EMS Physicians 2005, National Association of EMS Physicians
  • American College of Emergency Physicians Lifetime Achievement Award in Emergency Medical Services 2012, ACEP
  • Outstanding Service Award 1995, American Heart Association
  • Phi Kappa Phi 1973, University of Georgia
  • Phi Beta Kappa 1973, University of Georgia
  • Ronald D Stewart Award for Outstanding National Service to EMS 1991, Awarded by the National Association of EMS Physicians
  • National Top Ten EMS Innovator Award 2010, Journal of Emergency Medical Services and Physiocontrol
Books & Publications
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Quality Assurance in EMS
  • Hemorrhagic Shock
  • Cardiac Arrest
  • Acute Coronary Syndrome