R. Nick Hogan, M.D., Ph.D., is a Professor in the Departments of Ophthalmology, Pathology, Neurology, and Neurological Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in neuro-ophthalmology disorders, ophthalmic pathology, and oncology.

Dr. Hogan earned his medical degree at the George Washington University School of Medicine. He also holds a doctorate in neurobiology and anatomy from the University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry. He completed a residency in ophthalmology at UT Southwestern and then received advanced training in neuro-ophthalmology, ophthalmic pathology, and ocular oncology through three separate fellowships, the first at UT Southwestern and the second and third at Harvard (Massachusetts General Hospital and Massachusetts Eye and Ear), respectively. 

Certified by the American Board of Ophthalmology, Dr. Hogan joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 1996. 

Dr. Hogan is an internationally invited lecturer and researcher in neuro-ophthalmology, ocular pathology, and prion disease. He is the author of numerous publications, an editorial board member for Frontiers in Neuro-Ophthalmology, and a reviewer for many scholarly journals. He is also a grant reviewer for the National Science Foundation and the National Prion Research Foundation.

He served on the board of the American Association of Ocular Oncologists and Pathologists (AAOOP) and formerly chaired the FDA Advisory Committee on Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies (prion diseases). Dr. Hogan is a member of numerous professional organizations, including the Verhoeff-Zimmerman Ocular Pathology Society, the Cogan Ophthalmic History Society, the Eastern Ophthalmic Pathology Society, the Society of Heed Fellows, the North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society, the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Dallas County Medical Society, and the Texas Medical Association.

In 2021, the AAOOP and AAO awarded Dr. Hogan the Lorenz Zimmerman Medal, the organization's most prestigious honor for his "outstanding contributions to ophthalmic pathology."

Education & Training
  • Fellowship - UT Southwestern Medical School (1994-1995), Neuro-ophthalmology
  • Residency - UT Southwestern Medical School (1991-1994), Ophthalmology
  • Medical School - George Washington University School of Medicine (1986-1990)
  • Internship - Parkland Memorial Hospital (1990-1991), Transitional Year
  • Fellowship - Massachusetts General Hospital (1995-1996), Ophthalmic Pathology
  • Fellowship - Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary (1995-1996), Ophthalmic Pathology/ocular Oncology
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Association of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists
  • North American Neuro-Ophthalmology Society
  • Society of Heed Fellows
  • Verhoeff-Zimmerman Society
  • Eastern Ophthalmic Pathology Society
  • Cogan Ophthalmic History Society
Honors & Awards
  • Lorenz Zimmerman Medal 2021, American Academy of Ophthalmology
  • Frederick Jakobiec Medal and Lecturer 2022, Harvard Ophthalmology
  • Chairman, Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies Advisory Cmte. to the FDA, 2009-2014
  • Board of Directors 2011, American Association of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists
  • D Magazine Best Doctors, 2010-2013, 2017, 2019, 2022, 2023
  • Texas Super Doctors as seen in Texas Monthly Magazine 2014-2023
Books & Publications
  • Retinal degeneration in human spongiform encephalopathies
  • Natural history of optic pathway gliomas
  • Contact lenses and prion disease

Clinical Focus

  • Neuro-Ophthalmology Disorders
  • Diagnostic Neuropathology
  • Pituitary Tumors
  • Vestibular & Ocular Motor Disorders (Neuro-Otology)
  • Ocular oncology
  • Neuromuscular Disorders
  • Cerebrovascular Disease
  • Concussion
  • Brain & Spinal Cord Cancer
  • Medical Treatment of Brain & Spinal Cord Cancer
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Uveal melanoma
  • Retinoblastoma
  • Ocular Lymphoma
  • Ocular Pathology

See More