Angela Mihalic, M.D.

Angela Mihalic, M.D.

  • Distinguished Teaching Professor
  • Pediatrics - General
  • Medical Education
  • Pediatrics


Angela Mihalic, M.D., is a Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She is the Dean of Medical Students and Associate Dean of the Office of Student Affairs.

Dr. Mihalic earned her medical degree at UT Southwestern. She completed a residency in pediatrics at UT Southwestern and Children’s Medical Center Dallas and received advanced training in education and leadership at the Pediatric Academic Societies, the Harvard Macy Institute, and the Association of American Medical Colleges.

Board certified in pediatrics, she joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 1998.

Dr. Mihalic is a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics. She is also a member of the Ambulatory Pediatric Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Texas Medical Association, the Dallas County Medical Society, and the Pediatric Society of Greater Dallas. She also serves as the Gamma Chapter secretary treasurer for Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and as the UT Southwestern chapter advisor for the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Dr. Mihalic specializes in medical education, with a focus on teaching pediatric primary care to residents and medical students. She teaches about normal development, growth, and various common pediatric presentations of musculoskeletal, respiratory, and gastrointestinal conditions. She has delivered a multitude of presentations and published numerous academic articles related to her areas of expertise.

Dr. Mihalic is the recipient of numerous awards, including the 2014 Regents’ Outstanding Teacher Award from the University of Texas System.

Personal Note

When she’s not working, Dr. Mihalic enjoys reading, travel, and baking.

Education & Training
  • Residency - Children's Health Dallas (1996-1998), Pediatrics
  • Internship - Children's Health Dallas (1995-1996), Pediatrics
  • Medical School - UT Southwestern Medical School (1991-1995), Pediatrics
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • Ambulatory Pediatric Association
  • American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Association of American Medical Colleges
  • Dallas County Medical Society
  • Pediatric Society of Greater Dallas
  • Texas Medical Association
Honors & Awards
  • UT Southwestern Commencement Faculty Marshal, elected by graduating class, 2007-2015, 2017-2018, 2023, UT Southwestern Medical School
  • SGSA Robert “Bob” Sabalis Award for Exemplary Service 2021, AAMC Southern Group on Student Affairs
  • Distinguished Clinical Educator Award 2019, UT Southwestern Academy of Teachers
  • Excellence in Medical Student Career Advising Faculty Advisor Award 2019, Association of American Medical Colleges, Careers in Medicine
  • Outstanding Teacher Award, 2006-2010, 2015-2019, UT Southwestern Medical School
  • Piper Professor 2019, Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation
  • Gold Humanism Honor Society 2015, UT Southwestern
  • Regents’ Outstanding Teacher Award 2014, The University of Texas System
  • Best Pediatric Specialists in Dallas, 2004, 2007, 2010, D Magazine
  • Marquis’ Who’s Who in America 2008
  • Roberta Joy Uhr Award (top medical graduate in pediatrics) 1995, UT Southwestern Medical School
  • Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society 1994, UT Southwestern Medical School
Books & Publications

Clinical Focus

  • Medical Education
  • Pediatrics

See More