Girish Joshi, M.D.

Girish Joshi, M.D.

  • Anesthesiology and Pain Management
  • Pain Management


Girish P. Joshi, M.D., is a Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management at UT Southwestern Medical Center. 

Dr. Joshi earned his medical degree at B. J. Medical College at the University of Pune in India, where he also completed a residency in anesthesiology. He received advanced training through a fellowship at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and then earned his second medical degree at the University College Dublin. 

Certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 1993. 

Dr. Joshi is an executive section editor for Anesthesia & Analgesia and a section editor for UpToDate. He is a member of the Procedure-Specific Pain Management (PROSPECT) Group, an international collaboration of anesthesiologists and surgeons that formulates evidence-based procedure-specific pain management recommendations. 

He is a past president and current active member of the Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia (SAMBA), the Society of Anesthesia and Sleep Medicine, and the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists. In addition, he serves on the board of directors of SAMBA and Acreditas Global. 

Dr. Joshi has authored or co-authored numerous peer-reviewed journal articles and editorials, and he has made numerous presentations as a visiting professor or invited speaker at several national and international conferences.

In 2018, he earned the Distinguished Service Award from SAMBA.

Education & Training
  • Residency - Limerick Regional Hospital (1987-1989), Anesthesiology
  • Residency - University of Pune (1983-1985), Anesthesiology
  • Medical School - B. J. Medical College (1977-1982)
  • Internship - University of Pune (1981-1982), Rotating Internship
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists, Texas Society of Anesthesiologists and Dallas County Anesthesiology Society
  • Texas Medical Association, Dallas County Medical Society
  • Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia
  • International Anesthesia Research Society
  • Association of University Anesthesiologists
Honors & Awards
  • National Merit Scholarship 1976
  • Man of the Year 1980, B. J. Medical College, Pune, India
  • Board of Directors 2000, Texas Society of Anesthesiologists
  • President 1998, Dallas County Anesthesiologists Society
Books & Publications
  • Postoperative Outcome and Safety
  • Clinical Pharmacology Related to Anesthesiology
  • Ambulatory Anesthesia
  • Acute Pain Management

Clinical Focus

  • Pain Management

See More