Lance Terada, M.D.

Lance Terada, M.D.

  • Dr. Carey G. King, Jr. and Dr. Henry M. Winans, Sr. Chair in Internal Medicine
  • Internal Medicine - Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
  • General Pulmonology
  • Lung (Pulmonary) Disorders


Lance Terada, M.D., is a Professor of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center, Chief of its Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, and holder of the Dr. Carey G. King, Jr. and Dr. Henry M. Winans, Sr. Chair in Internal Medicine. His clinical interests include general pulmonology and pulmonary disorders.

Originally from Honolulu, Dr. Terada received his bachelor’s degree in biophysics from Amherst College in Massachusetts, and his medical degree from the University of Hawaii. His clinical training in internal medicine was at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, followed by both clinical and research fellowships in pulmonary sciences at the University of Colorado in Denver, where he also served as a faculty member.

He is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in internal medicine (1986), pulmonary medicine (1988), and critical care medicine (2010). He joined UT Southwestern in 1999. Dr. Terada’s research focuses on several areas of cellular signaling which control basic mechanical and cell fate decision programs.

He is a member of several professional organizations, including the American Federation for Medical Research, American Psychological Society, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and the American Thoracic Society.

Dr. Terada’s awards and honors include an Established Investigator Award from the American Heart Association, an Individual Investigator Award from the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas, membership in the Sigma Xi Scientific Research Honor Society, and the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award from UT Southwestern’s Pulmonary and Critical Care Fellowship. He has been named a Texas Super Doctor by Texas Monthly every year since 2012.

Education & Training
  • Medical School - University of Hawaii John A. Burns School of Medicine (1979-1983)
  • Fellowship - University of Colorado Health Sciences Center (1986-1989), Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine
  • Residency - University Hospitals of Cleveland (1983-1986), Internal Medicine
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Thoracic Society
  • American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • American Physiological Society
  • American Federation for Medical Research
Honors & Awards
  • Alpha Omega Alpha 1982
  • Research Competition Award - Case Western Research Univ 1986
  • Will Rogers Research Fellow 1988
  • American Heart Association 1996, Established Investigator Award
Books & Publications
  • Vascular Biology
  • Signal Transduction
  • Oxidant Biochemistry
  • Anchorage sensing and anoikis

Clinical Focus

  • General Pulmonology
  • Lung (Pulmonary) Disorders

See More