Request an Appointment or 214-645-8300

David Johnson, M.D.
David Johnson, M.D.

David Johnson, M.D.

  • Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine
  • Internal Medicine - Hematology/Oncology


Dr. Johnson joined the UT Southwestern Medical Center faculty on July 1, 2010 as the Donald W. Seldin Distinguished Chair in Internal Medicine and Chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine. Prior to joining UT Southwestern he was a member of the faculty at the Vanderbilt University Medical School where he held the Cornelius A. Craig Chair of Medical & Surgical Oncology and served as the Director of the Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology and Deputy Director of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center. He is a Past Chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Board of Directors.  He is also Past Chair of the ABIM Medical Oncology Subspecialty Board and a Past President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO).  During his term as ASCO President he helped advance the organization’s quality of care activity known as the Quality Oncology Practice Initiative (QOPI) and was instrumental in establishing ASCO’s Cancer Survivorship Program. Dr. Johnson has served on the Food and Drug Administration’s Oncology Drug Advisory Committee, as chairman of the Thoracic Committee of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group and on the Board of Directors of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network, the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer and the LiveSTRONG Foundation. Dr. Johnson’s research interests involve understanding the biology of lung cancer and improving the treatment of this and other solid tumors. He played a role in the development of the new targeted drugs bevacizumab (Avastin) and erlotinib (Tarceva) both of which are now FDA-approved for the treatment of lung cancer. Dr. Johnson earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia and received medical oncology training at Vanderbilt University.

See More

Education & Training
  • Medical School - Medical College of Georgia (1976)
  • Internship - Mary Imogene Bassett Hospital (1976), Internal Medicine
  • Residency - University of South Alabama Medical Center (1979), Internal Medicine
  • Fellowship - Vanderbilt University Medical Center (1983), Hematology Oncology
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Association for Cancer Research,
  • American College of Physicians,
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology,
  • Association of American Physicians,
  • International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer,
Honors & Awards
  • ASCO Distinguished Achievement Award (2016)
  • College of Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame, University of Kentucky (2015)
  • Master, American College of Physicians (2015)
  • Chairman, American Board of Internal Medicine Board of Directors (2013-2015)
  • Established Investigator Award, CPRIT (2010)
  • Association of American Physicians (2009)
  • Clinical Research Award, Association of Community Cancer Centers (2007)
  • Distinguished Southern Oncologist Award, Southern Association of Oncology (2006)
  • President, American Society of Clinical Oncology (2004-2005)
  • Alpha Omega Alpha (1975)
Books & Publications
  • Developmental therapeutics
  • Lung cancer therapeutics