Heather McArthur, M.D.

  • Komen Distinguished Chair in Clinical Breast Cancer Research
  • Internal Medicine - Hematology/Oncology
  • Breast Cancer


Heather Lynn McArthur, M.D., M.P.H., is an Associate Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine and Clinical Director of the Breast Cancer Program at Simmons Cancer Center at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She specializes in breast cancer research and treatment.

Dr. McArthur earned her medical degree at the University of Toronto and completed a residency in internal medicine at the University of Calgary. She received advanced training through a medical oncology fellowship at the University of British Columbia and an advanced clinical research fellowship in breast cancer at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.

She also holds a master’s degree in public health from Harvard University.

Dr. McArthur joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2021. Previously, she served as Medical Director of Breast Oncology at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles.

At UT Southwestern, she serves as the Komen Distinguished Chair in Clinical Breast Cancer Research. Her research focuses on innovations in the diagnosis and treatment of breast cancer, and she has a special interest in developing immunotherapy strategies.

The author of more than 100 research articles and abstracts, she has been a reviewer for medical journals including Cancer, Journal of Clinical Oncology, Nature, and New England Journal of Medicine. She currently serves as an Associate Editor for Breast Cancer Research and on the editorial boards for Cancer and Breast Cancer Research and Treatment.

She also serves on the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology’s Immuno-Oncology Committee Advisory Council, Oncology Education’s Scientific Steering Committee, and the National Cancer Institute’s Breast Immuno-Oncology Task Force of the Breast Cancer Steering Committee.

Dr. McArthur is a member of the American Association for Cancer Research, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the Southwest Oncology Group.

Education & Training
  • Other Post Graduate Training - Harvard University (2006-2008)
  • Medical School - University of Toronto (1997-2001)
  • Residency - University of Calgary (2001-2004), Internal Medicine
  • Fellowship - British Columbia Cancer Vancouver Centre (2004-2006), Medical Oncology
  • Graduate School - Harvard University School of Public Health (2006-2008)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Association for Cancer Research
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • Southwest Oncology Group
Honors & Awards
  • Bernard Lee Schwartz Cancer Lectureship 2021, Scripps MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Certificate of Excellence in Recognition of Being in the Top 10% Nationally in Patient Experience Performance of all Physicians in Specialty 2020-2021, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
  • LA Goes Pink Award in Tribute to Liz Smagala Tate 2018-2020, Breast Cancer Research Foundation
  • Nominee, “Woman Oncologist of the Year” Award 2020, Women Leaders in Oncology
  • Robert L. Longmire Lectureship 2020, Scripps MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Advocacy Program, Senator’s Club Level 2019, American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • Laura Ziskin Prize in Translational Cancer Research 2019, Stand Up To Cancer
  • Eileen Dreyer Memorial Lecture Award 2015, SASS Foundation for Medical Research Inc.
  • ASCO Cancer Foundation Merit Award, 2007, 2009, American Society of Clinical Oncology
  • San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium AstraZeneca Clinical Scholars Award 2008, San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium
  • First Prize, Poster Award for Epidemiology and Population Research 2006, British Colombia Cancer Agency Annual Cancer Conference
  • Stefan Grzbowski Prize for Best Research Project by a Fellow 2006, University of British Columbia Department of Medicine
  • First Prize, Poster Award for Translation II – Adoption 2005, British Columbia Cancer Agency Annual Cancer Conference
  • Second Place Award for Excellence in Research 2004, Canadian Society of Internal Medicine
  • Award for Excellence in Teaching in the Clinical Clerkship 2003, University of Calgary
Books & Publications
  • Breast cancer diagnosis
  • Breast cancer treatment
  • Immunotherapy for breast cancer

Clinical Focus

  • Breast Cancer

See More