Nancy Kelly, M.D., M.P.H.

Nancy Kelly, M.D., M.P.H.

  • Pediatrics - General
  • Pediatric Primary Care


Nancy Kelly, M.D., M.P.H., is a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She specializes in pediatric primary care, with a special interest in promoting childhood literacy and increasing vaccination.

Dr. Kelly earned her medical degree at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston. She completed her residency in pediatrics at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, where she was Chief Resident at Arkansas Children's Hospital. She gained advanced training through a fellowship in academic general pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine. She also holds a Master of Public Health degree with a focus on disease control from UTHealth Houston.

Certified by the American Board of Pediatrics, she joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2005.

Among her other roles, Dr. Kelly is Assistant Director of the UT Southwestern Academic Colleges and Director of the Community Pediatrics and Advocacy Program Rotation for pediatric residents. She is also Co-Founder and Co-Director of Texas Educators in Advocacy and Community Health (TEACH TX), a collaborative of pediatric training programs in Texas.

She is a member of the Society for Pediatric Research, the American Academy of Pediatrics, the Academic Pediatric Association, the Texas Pediatric Society, and the Association of Pediatric Program Directors.

She has delivered scores of presentations, contributed to several books, including Advances in Pediatrics, and published numerous academic articles related to her areas of expertise.

Personal Note

When she’s not at work, Dr. Kelly enjoys gardening, growing African violets and orchids, hiking, bird watching, and cooking.

Education & Training
  • Fellowship - Baylor College of Medicine (1991-1994), Academic Medicine
  • Graduate School - University of Texas Health Science Center Houston (1992-1994)
  • Other Post Graduate Training - University of Texas Health Science Center Houston (1992-1994)
  • Residency - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (1988-1991), Pediatrics
  • Internship - University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (1987-1988), Pediatrics
  • Medical School - University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (1983-1987)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Academy of Pediatrics
  • Academic Pediatric Association
  • Association of Pediatric Program Directors
  • Society for Pediatric Research
  • Texas Pediatric Society
Honors & Awards
  • Special Achievement Award 2020, Texas Pediatric Society
  • Southwestern Academy of Teachers 2019, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Best Pediatric Specialists in Dallas 2015, D Magazine
  • Nominee for DFW Hospital Council Foundation Physician of the Year 2014, Children's Medical Center
  • Educational Innovation Award 2012, UT Southwestern Pediatric Residency Program
  • Outstanding Journal Club Award 2005, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Fulbright and Jaworski L.L.P., Faculty Excellence Award 2005, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Community Teaching Award 2003, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Resident Education 1999, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Don E. Hill Memorial Award for Excellence in Research 1990, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Finalist for the “Gold-Headed Cane” Award 1987, University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston
Books & Publications
  • Immunization delivery
  • Poison prevention and utilization of poison control centers
  • Injury prevention
  • Resident and medical student education

Clinical Focus

  • Pediatric Primary Care

See More