Ramesh Saxena, M.D., Ph.D., is a Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in the treatment of lupus nephritis, glomerulonephritis, and peritoneal dialysis.

Originally from India, Dr. Saxena earned his medical degree at Maulana Azad Medical College in New Delhi, and his doctoral degree in autoimmune glomerulonephritis at Lund University in Sweden. He completed his residency in internal medicine at Northeastern Ohio University College of Medicine in Canton, and received advanced training through a postdoctoral fellowship at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland and a nephrology fellowship at The Ohio State University Hospitals in Columbus, Ohio.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in nephrology, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 1999.

Among other roles, Dr. Saxena is Medical Director of UT Southwestern’s Davita Irving Dialysis Center. He serves on the Clinician Educator Compensation Plan Committee and the Clinical Competency Committee for Renal Fellows at UT Southwestern, where he is also a Clinical Documentation Improvement Provider Champion in Nephrology. In addition, since 2009 he has provided patient care at the Denton County India Culture Association’s Annual Free Clinic.

He is a Fellow of the American Society of Nephrology and a member of the International Society of Peritoneal Dialysis and other professional organizations, and he serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Vascular Access.

Dr. Saxena has delivered scores of lectures, published numerous peer-reviewed articles, and contributed chapters to several books, including Andreoli & Carpenter’s Cecil Essentials of Medicine and Silva’s Diagnostic Renal Pathology.

In 2012 and 2015, he received UT Southwestern’s Excellence in Teaching Award in Nephrology.

Education & Training
  • Fellowship - Ohio State University Hospitals (1997-1999), Nephrology
  • Residency - Aultman Hospital - NEOUCOM (1995-1997), Internal Medicine
  • Internship - Aultman Hospital - NEOUCOM (1994-1995), Internal Medicine
  • Medical School - Delhi University/Maulana Azad Medical College (1980-1986)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Society of Nephrology
  • Dallas County Medical Society
  • International Society of Nephrology
  • International Society of Peritoneal Dialysis
  • National Kidney Foundation
  • Texas Medical Association
Honors & Awards
  • D Magazine Best Doctor 2021
  • Excellence in Teaching Award, (2012, 2015) UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Anna Greta Crafoord Prize for best PhD thesis at Lund University 1991, Crafoord Foundation
  • Fellow 2015, American Society of Nephrology
Books & Publications
  • Lupus Nephritis
  • Glomerulonephritis
  • Peritoneal Dialysis

Clinical Focus

  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • Glomerulonephritis
  • Kidney Disease (Nephrology)
  • Lupus nephritis
  • Peritoneal dialysis

See More