Amol Patwardhan, M.D., Ph.D.

Amol Patwardhan, M.D., Ph.D.

  • Anesthesiology and Pain Management
  • Minimization of narcotic medications
  • Multimodal pain management


Amol Patwardhan, M.D., Ph.D., is an Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Management at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in multimodal pain management, state-of-the-art minimally invasive pain interventions, and the minimization of narcotic medications.

Dr. Patwardhan earned his medical degree at the University of Mumbai. He completed a residency in anesthesiology at the University of Arizona and a fellowship in interventional pain medicine at the University of California, San Diego. He also holds a doctorate in pharmacology from the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio with a focus on novel analgesic development.

Board certified in anesthesiology with a subspecialty in pain management, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2022. Previously, he served as Co-Director of the Banner University of Arizona Chronic Pain Management Clinic and Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Arizona.

Dr. Patwardhan is very active in analgesic research and serves as the principal investigator or co-investigator for several NIH grants. He is also an investigator on many industry-sponsored clinical trials related to pain management. He has published more than 50 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals and has authored two book chapters.

Dr. Patwardhan serves as a member on a number of NIH, Department of Defense, and other national and international organizations’ study sections.

Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Arizona Society of Anesthesiologists
  • United States Association for the Study of Pain
Honors & Awards
  • Clinical Excellence Award 2019, University of Arizona College of Medicine
  • Best Resident Research Award 2012-2013, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Arizona
  • Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research Resident Scholar 2011, American Society of Anesthesiology
  • Armand J. Guarino Award for Excellence in Doctoral Studies 2006, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Graduate Student of the Year 2005, Department of Pharmacology, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Books & Publications
  • Books
    • Pain—Acute Versus Chronic Pain & Anesthesia in Comprehensive Pharmacology
      Martins Y., AlMuslim M. and Patwardhan A.M. (2022), Elsevier

Clinical Focus

  • Minimization of narcotic medications
  • Multimodal pain management
  • State-of-the-art minimally invasive pain interventions

See More