Eleanor Lederer, M.D.

Eleanor Lederer, M.D.

  • John S. Fordtran, M.D. Professorship in Calcium Research
  • Internal Medicine - Nephrology
  • Chronic kidney disease complications
  • Kidney Stones


Eleanor Lederer, M.D., is a Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She specializes in chronic kidney disease complications, kidney stones, and kidney transplants.

Dr. Lederer earned her medical degree at Baylor College of Medicine, where she also completed her residency in internal medicine and fellowship in nephrology.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in internal medicine and nephrology, she joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2020.

Dr. Lederer is the John S. Fordtran Endowed Professor in Calcium Research at UTSW’s Charles and Jane Pak Center for Mineral Metabolism. In addition, she serves as the Assistant Chief of Medical Services for Research and Co-Director of the Network of Dedicated Enrollment Sites (NODES) program at the affiliated VA North Texas Health Sciences Center.

Dr. Lederer is currently funded through the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to study the regulation of parathyroid hormone, phosphate, and calcium in chronic kidney disease. She has published a number of peer-reviewed articles and has authored or coauthored chapters in numerous books, including Essentials of Chronic Kidney Disease and Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology.

She is a past president of the American Society of Nephrology and an active member of many other professional organizations, including the Renal Physicians Association, the American College of Physicians, the International Society of Nephrology, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Among many other honors, in 2020 Dr. Lederer received the Excellence in Patient Care Award from the National Kidney Foundation of Kentucky.

Education & Training
  • Medical School - Baylor College of Medicine (1974-1978)
  • Fellowship - Baylor College of Medicine (1981-1984), Nephrology
  • Residency - Baylor College of Medicine (1978-1981), Internal Medicine
  • Chief Resident - Baylor College of Medicine (1982-1983), Internal Medicine
  • Internship - Baylor College of Medicine (1978-1979)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • American Physiological Society
  • American Society for Bone and Mineral Research
  • American Society of Nephrology
  • Kentucky Medical Association
  • American Heart Association’s Council on the Kidney in Cardiovascular Disease
  • National Kidney Foundation
  • Southern Salt, Water and Kidney Society
  • American College of Physicians
  • Renal Physicians Association
  • International Society of Nephrology
Honors & Awards
  • Top Doctor in Nephrology 2020, Castle Connolly
  • Excellence in Patient Care Award 2020, National Kidney Foundation of Kentucky
  • Excellence in Leadership 2019, Robley Rex VA Medical Center
  • Top Doctor, (2014, 2017, 2019) Who’s Who Louisville
  • Internal Medicine Faculty Award 2010, American College of Physicians, Kentucky Chapter
  • Distinguished Teaching Professor Award 2009, University of Louisville
  • Partnership Award 2009, National Kidney Foundation of Kentucky
  • Teaching Award, Internal Medicine Residency, (2003, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2018) American Society of Nephrology
Books & Publications

Clinical Focus

  • Chronic kidney disease complications
  • Kidney Stones
  • Kidney Transplantation

See More