Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards

Honoring Clinical Excellence

At UT Southwestern Medical Center, “excellence” is one of our basic values – a commitment to strive for the highest standards in all we do, especially in our hospitals and clinics where we provide care to hundreds of thousands of patients each year.

To nurture that commitment to excellence in patient care, UT Southwestern annually recognizes clinical faculty members whose expertise, innovation, and compassion represent the very best of the UT Southwestern Health System.

UT Southwestern's prestigious clinical excellence awards honor our exceptional physicians who care for patients across North Texas, including at William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital, Zale Lipshy Pavilion, more than 80 clinics, as well at as our affiliated partners, Parkland Health & Hospital System, Children’s Health, the VA North Texas Health Care System, and Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children.

The 2023 award recipients once again serve as an inspiration to us all.

This year’s ceremony will be hosted by UT Southwestern President Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D.

The event will be held in person Thursday, Nov. 9, at 4:30 p.m., at the Tom and Lula Gooch Auditorium on South Campus, followed by a reception. Please find RSVP and event details online. There is also an option to view a livestream. Until then, we hope you will click through to read about this year’s Leaders in Clinical Excellence honorees.

Explore All Awards

“The faculty and staff whose daily work fulfills UT Southwestern’s clinical mission have made expertise, a commitment to innovation, and the compassionate delivery of high-quality patient care the hallmarks of the UT Southwestern Health System. Their remarkable service to our patients and the institution helps ensure that we fulfill our promise to deliver the future of medicine, today.”

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D.

President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

Seven major awards are presented annually to clinical faculty. All UT Southwestern Medical Center faculty and staff may submit a nomination for any of the seven awards. UTSW patients or patient family members may submit a nomination for the Patient and Family Recognition Award. Learn about our Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards and get to know the past winners.

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

The Watson Award is UT Southwestern’s highest honor in clinical care. Established in 2009 through a gift from Dr. William L. Watson Jr. and his wife, Patricia, it provides the opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care, is a leader in advancing clinical innovations, and has had a profound impact on students, trainees, colleagues, and patients.

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify enthusiasm, commitment, professionalism, and leadership.

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients.

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers.

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction.

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have partnered to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve patient care.

The President’s Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty who exemplify the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care.

See our Past Clinical Excellence Award Winners

Dr. Lee holds the Atticus James Gill, M.D. Chair in Medical Science.

Dr. Podolsky holds the Philip O’Bryan Montgomery, Jr., M.D. Distinguished Presidential Chair in Academic Administration, and the Doris and Bryan Wildenthal Distinguished Chair in Medical Science.