Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards

Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine

The Watson Award is UT Southwestern’s highest honor in clinical care. Established in 2009 through a gift from Dr. William L. Watson Jr. – a UT Southwestern alumnus – and his wife, Patricia, it provides the opportunity to recognize a UT Southwestern faculty physician who exemplifies excellence in patient care, is a leader in advancing clinical innovations, and has had a profound impact on students, trainees, colleagues, and patients.   

The Watson Award recipient is chosen by a select committee of physician leaders who review nominations submitted by UT Southwestern faculty.

See distinguished past winners

The nomination period for this award has ended.

“Watson Award recipients embody the special combination of clinical expertise and humanism that results in the delivery of truly exceptional patient care. The Watson Award winner is widely regarded as a ‘physician’s physician’ and a model of clinical commitment and excellence.”

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D.

President, UT Southwestern Medical Center