Laura Lacritz, Ph.D.

Laura Lacritz, Ph.D.

  • Distinguished Teaching Professor
  • Psychiatry
  • Neuropsychologist


Download Curriculum Vitae

Laura Lacritz, Ph.D., is a Licensed Psychologist with the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists. Dr. Lacritz obtained her undergraduate degree in psychology at UT Austin in 1989 with highest honors. She went on to obtain her doctorate degree at UT Southwestern Medical Center in clinical psychology where she served as Chief Resident. Dr. Lacritz completed a two-year postdoctoral fellowship at UT Southwestern in neuropsychology from 1995 to 1997. She joined the UT Southwestern Faculty in 1997 where her departmental activities include neuropsychological/cognitive evaluation of persons with known or suspected neurological disorders, involvement with the Alzheimer’s Disease Center at UT Southwestern, and teaching/training of graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. She serves as a member of the Steering, Clinical Training, Admissions and Competency Committees in the Graduate Clinical Psychology Program.

Dr. Lacritz’s clinical expertise is in the area of neuropsychological assessment, with particular interest in working with individuals who have dementia, epilepsy, movement disorders, brain tumors, and head injury. Dr. Lacritz’s research foci are in the areas of Alzheimer’s disease, mild cognitive impairment, movement disorders, epilepsy, and psychometric assessment. She is also interested in how to best use neuropsychological assessment in the early detection of dementia.

License Information

TX License #25366; Expires 4/30/2026

Get information on how to verify a license. To file a complaint, call 800-821-3205.

Education & Training
  • Undergraduate School - University of Texas at Austin (1985-1989), Psychology
  • Graduate School - UT Southwestern Medical Center (1990-1994), Clinical Psychology
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship - UT Southwestern Medical Center (1995-1997), Clinical Neuropsychology
  • Other Post Graduate Training - UT Southwestern Medical Center (1990-1994)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • National Academy of Neuropsychology
  • American Board of Clinical Neuropsychology
  • International Neuropsychological Society
  • American Psychological Association (Division 40)
Honors & Awards
  • Fellow 2020, American Psychological Association; Division 40
  • Distinguished Service Award 2020, National Academy of Neuropsychology
  • Distinguished Psychologist of the Year 2019, Dallas Psychological Association
  • Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award 2017, The University of Texas System
  • Southwestern Academy of Teachers (SWAT) 2015, UT Southwestern Medical Center, Selected Member
  • UT Kenneth I Shine, MD Academy of Health Science 2016, UT System, Elected Member
  • Distinguished Teaching Professor 2016, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Most Influential Mentor 2013, UT Southwestern Clinical Psychology Program
  • Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology 2011, American Psychological Association
  • Outstanding Teacher Award 2009, UT Southwestern Clinical Psychology Program
  • Distinguished Alumni Award 2008, UT Southwestern Clinical Psychology Program
  • Fellow 2005, National Academy of Neuropsychology
  • PACT 2005, Patient Care and Service Recognition, UTSW
  • Chief Resident 1993, UT Southwestern Clinical Psychology program
Books & Publications
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Movement Disorders
  • Early detection of dementia
  • Test development and interpretation
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Detection of cognitive change with interventions

Clinical Focus

  • Neuropsychologist

See More