Helen H. Hobbs, M.D.

  • Philip O'Bryan Montgomery Jr., M.D., Distinguished Chair in Developmental Biology
  • Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair for the Study of Human Growth and Development
  • [1995] Dallas Heart Ball Chair in Cardiology Research
  • Internal Medicine - Clinical Genetics


Download Curriculum Vitae

Helen H. Hobbs, M.D., is an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and a Professor of Internal Medicine and Molecular Genetics at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. She obtained her undergraduate degree from Stanford University prior to attending Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. After completing an internship in internal medicine at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center, she moved to Dallas, Texas where she finished her clinical training and served as chief resident in internal medicine at Parkland Memorial Hospital. She worked as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Drs. Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein before joining the faculty of UT Southwestern in 1987. She is Director of the McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development, which serves as the Center for Human Genetics at UT Southwestern.  She is also Director of the Dallas Heart Study, a longitudinal, multiethnic, population-based study of Dallas County, which is now supported by the Hoffman Family Center in Genetics and Epidemiology, and by the National Center for Advancing Translational Science (NCATS).  Her work focuses on defining the genetic determinants of plasma lipid levels and cardiovascular risk. Most recently, she has identified genetic variations that confer susceptibility to fatty liver disease.

Education & Training
  • Medical School - Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine (1975-1979)
  • Fellowship - Parkland Health & Hospital System (1983-1986), Endocrinology & Metabolism
  • Residency - Parkland Health & Hospital System (1980-1983), Internal Medicine
  • Internship - Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center (1979-1980), Internal Medicine
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Society of Clinical Investigation
  • American Society of Human Genetics
  • Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis and Vascular Disease Council of the American Heart Association
  • The Association of American Physicians
Honors & Awards
  • Anitschkow Prize 2019
  • Gerald D. Auerbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research 2019
  • Foundation Lefoulon-Delalande Grand prix Award 2018
  • Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine 2018
  • Passano Award (with Jonathan Cohen) 2016
  • Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences 2015
  • Pearl Meister Greengard Prize, Rockefeller University 2015
  • Pasarow Foundation Award in Cardiovascular Research 2013
  • International Atherosclerosis Society Prize 2012
  • American Society of Clinical Investigation 1991
  • The Association of American Physicians 1997
  • Institute of Medicine 2004
  • Heinrich Wieland Prize 2005
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences 2006
  • National Academy of Sciences, 2007 2007
  • American Heart Association Distinguished Scientist Award 2007
Books & Publications
  • Genetics and Pathogenesis of fatty liver disease
  • LDL Metabolism
  • Triglyceride trafficking and metabolism