Irina Podkorytova, M.D.

Irina Podkorytova, M.D.

  • Neurology
  • Epilepsy & Seizures


Irina M. Podkorytova, M.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Neurology at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She specializes in the surgical treatment of intractable epilepsy, stereoelectroencephalography, and neuromodulation.

Dr. Podkorytova earned her medical degree at Perm State Medical University in Perm, Russia. She completed a residency in child neurology at the Kurgan Municipal Children's Hospital in Russia, followed by a research fellowship in epilepsy and clinical neurophysiology at the Cleveland Clinic Epilepsy Center. She then received additional advanced training in neurophysiology and epilepsy through separate fellowships at UT Southwestern.

She joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2019.

Dr. Podkorytova serves on the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society’s Stereo-EEG Consortium and on UT Southwestern’s Program Evaluation and Clinical Competency committees. She is a member of the Texas Neurological Society, the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society, and the American Epilepsy Society.

She has published several academic articles and contributed to the second edition of the book Operative Techniques in Epilepsy Surgery. In 2019, she earned the Victor Rivera/Leon Weisberg Research Manuscript Award.

Education & Training
  • Residency - Kurgan Municipal Children's Hospital - Russia (1989-1990), Child Neurology
  • Fellowship - UT Southwestern Medical Center (2018-2019), Epilepsy
  • Medical School - Perm State Medical Academy, Russia (1983-1989)
  • Research Fellowship - UT Southwestern Medical Center (2014-2016), Neurophysiology
  • Research Fellowship - Cleveland Clinic Foundation (2013-2014), Epilepsy/clinical Neurophysiology
  • Fellowship - UTSW (Research fellowship) (2014-2016)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • Texas Neurological Society
  • American Clinical Neurophysiology Society
  • American Epilepsy Society
Honors & Awards
  • Victor Rivera/Leon Weisberg Research Manuscript Award 2019
  • Research Poster Award 2019, UT Southwestern
  • Program Director’s Travel Scholarship 2019, American Clinical Neurophysiology Society
  • Third Prize Award, Poster Competition 2019, Texas Neurological Society
Books & Publications

Clinical Focus

  • Epilepsy & Seizures

See More