Josh Hubregsen, M.D.

Josh Hubregsen, M.D.

  • Psychiatry
  • Interventional Psychiatry and Electroconvulsive Therapy
  • Inpatient Psychiatry


Josh Hubregsen, M.D., is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Psychiatry at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in interventional psychiatry and has an interest in managing high-acuity, high-complexity, and otherwise treatment-refractory conditions. He also has a keen interest in psychiatric education.

Dr. Hubregsen earned his medical degree at UT Southwestern Medical School, where he also completed a residency in psychiatry in the clinician-educator track. He served as Chief Resident in his final year of residency.

Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology in psychiatry, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2016.

Dr. Hubregsen serves as an Associate Program Director for UT Southwestern’s Psychiatry Residency Program and as Director of its concentration in interventional psychiatry. He also serves as Medical Director of ECT Services at William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital.

A member of numerous professional societies, Dr. Hubregsen serves on the Assessment Committee for the American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training. He has delivered international, national, and regional invited lectures and contributed to the book Supervision in Psychiatric Practice. He continues to publish academic articles related to ECT, interventional psychiatry, and psychiatric training.

Education & Training
  • Residency - UT Southwestern Medical Center (2012-2016), Psychiatry
  • Medical School - UT Southwestern Medical Center (2007-2012)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Association of Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training
  • American Psychiatric Association
  • International Society for ECT and Neurostimulation
  • Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians
Honors & Awards
  • Outstanding Resident Teaching Site 2020-2023, UT Southwestern Psychiatry Residency Program
  • The Wilkenfeld Psychiatric Resident Scholarship 2016, American Group Psychotherapy Association
  • Fellowship Award 2015, Association for Academic Psychiatry
  • Foundation Scholarship 2015, American Group Psychotherapy Association
  • Outstanding Resident Contribution to Medical Student Education 2014, UT Southwestern Department of Psychiatry
Books & Publications

Clinical Focus

  • Interventional Psychiatry and Electroconvulsive Therapy
  • Inpatient Psychiatry
  • Treatment Resistant Depression
  • Academic Psychiatry

See More