Responding to COVID-19

Community Advisory Board

Community engagement is critical to this study’s success, including the establishment of a Community Advisory Board (CAB). This group is comprised of representatives from communities across Dallas and Tarrant counties. CAB members provide essential input, designed to help:

  • Raise awareness of the DFW COVID-19 Prevalence Study among community members and leaders
  • Motivate community members to respond positively, if invited to participate
  • Show legitimacy of the study through transparency and design of communication tools (website, media communications, recruitment materials, etc.)
  • Disseminate interim and final study findings through multiple channels to reach our large and diverse population

2020 Community Advisory Board Members:

Kelvin Baggett, M.D., M.P.H., M.P.A.
City of Dallas

Lillie Biggins
Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital Fort Worth

Froswa' Booker-Drew, Ph.D.
State Fair of Texas

Roseangela Boyd, Ph.D.
Texas Christian University

Joel Burns
City of Fort Worth

Pastor Richie Butler
St. Luke "Community" United Methodist Church

John Carlo, M.D.
PRISM Health North Texas

Fernando Costa
City of Fort Worth

Duane Dankesreiter
Dallas Regional Chamber

Reverend Ralph W. Emerson, Jr.
Rising Star Baptist Church

Karla Garcia
Dallas Independent School District – District 4

Eugene Giovannini
Tarrant County College District

Philip Huang, M.D., M.P.H.
Dallas County Health and Human Services

Michael Jacobson
Greater Arlington Chamber of Commerce

Leah King
United Way of Tarrant County

Leonor Marquez
Los Barrios Unidos

Mark Masepohl
Univision Dallas

Andy Miller
Morris Foundation

Rosa Navejar
The Rios Group

Alice Robinson
Dallas Tenants Association

Emma Rodgers
Dallas Civil Rights Museum

Joel Rodriguez
Catholic Diocese of Fort Worth

Kent Scribner, Ph.D.
Fort Worth Independent School District

Michael Sorrell
Paul Quinn College

Linda Valdez-Thompson
DFW International Airport

Florencia Velasco Fortner
The Concilio

Jill Waggoner, M.D.
Potter’s House

Gerrie Whitaker
North Texas Area Community Health Centers, Inc.

Grace White
My Health My Resources (MHMR) of Tarrant County