David Greenberg, M.D.

  • Distinguished Teaching Professor
  • Internal Medicine - Infectious Diseases and Geographic Medicine
  • Transplant Infectious Diseases
  • Antibiotic-Resistant Infections


David Greenberg, M.D., is a Professor and Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He specializes in transplant infectious diseases, antibiotic-resistant infections, and immunocompromised patients.

Dr. Greenberg earned his medical degree and completed a residency in internal medicine at Baylor College of Medicine. He received advanced training in infectious diseases through a fellowship at the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.

Certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine in infectious diseases, he joined the UT Southwestern faculty in 2010.

Dr. Greenberg’s research focuses on the development of novel antibacterial therapeutics for multidrug-resistant bacteria. His lab uses peptide-conjugated phosphorodiamidate morpholino oligomers (PPMOs) to block mRNA and prevent translation of target genes. He has received significant grant support for his research, and he holds several patents related to the technology involved.

At UT Southwestern, Dr. Greenberg is the Director of Microbial Genomics in the Infectious Diseases Division and focuses on utilizing whole-genome sequencing to predict antibiotic resistance. In addition, he co-chairs UTSW’s Biorepository Stewardship Committee and is the Faculty Advisor for the Infectious Diseases Interest Group. He directs several courses for medical students, including one titled Emerging Infectious Diseases and the Microbiome.

Dr. Greenberg has received numerous teaching awards from UT Southwestern. In 2014, he was awarded the Regents’ Outstanding Teacher Award, and in 2020 he was inducted into the Kenneth Shine Academy, the premier health science education academy in the University of Texas system.

He has published countless academic articles and delivered numerous invited lectures. He is a member of the American Society for Microbiology and serves on the Infectious Diseases Society of America’s Antimicrobial Resistance Committee.

Education & Training
  • Fellowship - National Institutes of Health (2003-2006), Infectious Diseases
  • Residency - Baylor College of Medicine (2002-2003), Internal Medicine
  • Residency - Baylor College of Medicine (1999-2002), Internal Medicine
  • Medical School - Baylor College of Medicine (1995-1999)
  • University - Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (1991-1995)
Professional Associations & Affiliations
  • American Society for Microbiology
  • Infectious Diseases Society of America
Honors & Awards
  • Induction into the Kenneth Shine Academy 2020, The University of Texas System
  • Induction into Alpha Omega Alpha Society 2018, UT Southwestern
  • Organisms and Host Course, MVP Award 2015-2018, UT Southwestern
  • Outstanding Teacher Award, MS2 Class 2011-2016, UT Southwestern
  • Faculty Marshall Medical School Graduation, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, UT Southwestern
  • Induction into Southwestern Association of Teachers (SWAT) 2014, UT Southwestern
  • Second Place: Innovation in Health Science Education Award 2014, University of Texas Academy of Health Science Education
  • Regents' Outstanding Teacher Award 2014, The University of Texas System
  • Excellence in Education Award 2011-2013, UT Southwestern
  • Merit Award 2009, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases Award
  • Director's Award 2007, National Institutes of Health
  • Fellows Award for Research Excellence 2006, National Institutes of Health
  • Special Citation for Fellow-in-Training 2005, Infectious Diseases Society of America
Books & Publications
  • Antibiotic Resistance
  • Antimicrobial Development
  • Biofilm-Related Infections
  • Gram-Negative Bacterial Infections
  • Infections in Immunocompromised Hosts

Clinical Focus

  • Transplant Infectious Diseases
  • Antibiotic-Resistant Infections
  • Immunocompromised Hosts

See More