Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients. Recipients will demonstrate the patient-centered focus, organizational skills, and vision necessary to carry their work from the conference room to the clinics in a way that impacts patient outcomes.

The 2018 Winners:

Kevin Klein, M.D.

Anesthesiology and Pain Management
Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery

In his 32-year career at UTSW, Dr. Kevin Klein has dedicated countless hours to serving on institutional committees, task forces, and initiatives. He helped establish the UTSW Heart Transplant Program at the former St. Paul University Hospital and took on the role of Medical Director of Anesthesiology when Zale Lipshy University Hospital was preparing to open – designing each operating room, acquiring and supervising installation of all anesthesia equipment, and writing numerous policies and procedures. 

For the past 15 years, he has led the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society Gamma Chapter at UTSW, working closely with the Associate Deans of Students to enhance student participation and continue the tradition of excellence at the institution. Dr. Klein has become known as UTSW’s expert in difficult airway management, and he was recently designated a Fellow of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. 

Dr. Klein’s dedication to service can be felt across all areas of campus and will continue to have a positive impact on students, faculty, and patients for years to come. Dr. Klein is a graduate of UT Southwestern Medical School.

In his words: “What a great honor and surprise it is to be recognized by UT Southwestern and fellow faculty members! My life is enriched every day by our wonderful patients and colleagues. I feel fortunate to be here.”

Robyn Horsager-Boehrer, M.D.

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Chief of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Colleagues describe Dr. Horsager-Boehrer as innovative, creative, and selfless – someone who works tirelessly within and across institutional groups to ensure all staff can contribute to the mission of UT Southwestern Medical Center. She is also known as a highly skilled clinician with a deep commitment to quality care. She currently serves on the Ambulatory Service Committee of the Faculty Practice Committee, the University Hospital Medical Executive Committee, and numerous other initiatives that have resulted in both improvements and enhancements in clinical care.

Dr. Horsager-Boehrer has been instrumental in building the faculty obstetrical and maternal fetal medicine practices at Clements University Hospital. She serves as editor of the Your Pregnancy Matters blog on utswmed.org, a resource that shares the stories of pregnant women and helpful information for patients and families.

She earned her medical degree at the University of Illinois College of Medicine and completed her residency and fellowship training in obstetrics and gynecology and maternal-fetal medicine at Parkland Hospital and UT Southwestern. She also is a member of UT Southwestern’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology’s Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine and holds the Luis Leib, M.D. Professorship in Obstetrics & Gynecology.

In her words: “I like to remind new faculty that institutions have a large need for physicians to help with activities that greatly impact patient care but that don’t take place in operating or exam rooms.”