John Sweetenham, M.D., is a Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center and the Associate Director for Clinical Affairs at UTSW’s Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center. He specializes in treating lymphomas and other hematologic malignancies. 

Dr. Sweetenham earned his medical degree at Saint Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College in London. He completed a residency at the Royal United Hospital in Bath and received advanced training in medical oncology through a fellowship at the University of Southampton, where he then served as a faculty member and leader of the lymphoma and transplant programs. He also completed a visiting fellowship in tumor immunology at Harvard Medical School and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. 

Prior to joining the UT Southwestern faculty in 2019, Dr. Sweetenham was Senior Director for Clinical Affairs and Physician in Chief at the Huntsman Cancer Institute of the University of Utah, where he led strategic planning efforts for the clinical cancer service line and introduced innovative cancer care delivery models. 

Dr. Sweetenham is internationally recognized for his clinical research on lymphoma and stem cell transplantation. He has authored more than 200 original articles, chapters, and books and serves as an editor and ad hoc reviewer for numerous scholarly journals. He has been a principal investigator on national and international trials in lymphoma. Most recently, he was co-leader of an international clinical trial that established a new standard of care for patients with Hodgkin lymphoma at high risk of relapse following stem cell transplantation. He is a former Lymphoma Committee member of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group and the former Chairman of the Clinical Trials Committee of Bloodwise (formerly Leukemia and Lymphoma Research) in the United Kingdom. 

Dr. Sweetenham is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and the Royal College of Physicians, UK. He is also a member of the American Society of Hematology.