Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center

Patient and Family Advisory Council

Appointment New Patient Appointment or 214-645-8300

At Simmons Cancer Center, we build cancer care around the wide-ranging needs of our patients and their caregivers. The Patient and Family Advisory Council was created and developed with generous support from Kim and Jeff Chapman. Our vision is to identify and address needs throughout the entire patient experience and to create mutually beneficial partnerships among patients, families, and health care providers.

To be a member of the PFAC, we ask that you:

  • Be a current or former Simmons Cancer Center patient, caregiver, or family member
  • Represent all patients, caregivers, and family members
  • Commit to a two-year term
  • Complete orientation and all required documentation and forms for your membership file
  • Each term year, attend eight of the 12 monthly meetings — currently meetings are virtual
  • Engage in at least one additional opportunity to improve the patient experience such as an institutional committee, focus group, special project, etc.

Examples of PFAC involvement include:

  • Informed design of new building, including art curation
  • Reviewed education materials, including website and acute care clinic marketing materials
  • Collaborated with the CRO on letters to communicate status of ongoing trials
  • Presented to medical school students, nursing students, and advanced practice fellows
  • Monthly presentations at new employee orientation
  • Representation on IRBs
  • Collaboration with Community Outreach, Equity, and Engagement Office
  • Completion of extensive patient and caregiver survey
  • Collaborated with Imerman’s Angels to offer peer mentoring

“The Patient and Family Advisory Council means a lot to me because it provides me an outlet to share my story with hospital leaders and to be a voice for patients and their advocates. One of the most important advancements in cancer care has been the empowerment of advocates, case managers, and support structures for those going through the cancer journey.”

– Peter Smith, Member


Kim Chapman, Founder

John Sweetenham, M.D., SCCC Associate Director of Clinical Affairs

Kyle A. Taylor, M.H.S.A., CPHQ, SCCC Associate Vice President of Clinical Programs

Susan Chacko, PharmD, RPh, BCOP

Judy Devlin, M.S.N., APRN, ANP-C, AOCNP

Alex Huffman, LCSW, OSW-C, Support Services Manager

Sharon Hoskin, APRN, NP-C, AOCNP

Danielle Lynn, MHA

Christie Nichols, BSN, RN, BMTCN

Fatemeh Youssefi, Ph.D., RN, OCN

Patient and Family Advisory Council Members

Hope Aguilar

Barry Brier

Pete Brookhart

Jay Carter

Wendy Casper

Kim Chapman

Sharron Coffie

Roberto Cowan

Janet Edwards

Mary Ellen Garland

Linda Garner

Erika Graham

Terry Hart

Danna Hightower

Tom Hulsey

Sharie Kimball

Andy Lancaster

Mike Land

Maritza Figy-Manzanares

Leta Nelson

Reema Patel

Tamara Pearson

Scott Presnall

Sadiyah Shaikh

Peter Smith

Sam Snow

Rachel Walker

Connie Webb

Misty Woodhall

Zach Weismann

Edward Wright

Get Involved

Interested patients and caregivers are asked to complete our application. We recently on-boarded the first 2022 cohort of advisors and will begin reviewing applications again in December of 2022.

Feel free to email SCCCSupport@utsouthwestern.edu or call Alex Huffman, LCSW, OSW-C, Manager of Support Services, at 214-645-2742 with questions.