Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards

Recognizing the Best in Clinical Excellence

The faculty and staff whose daily work fulfills UT Southwestern’s clinical mission have made expertise, a commitment to innovation, and the compassionate delivery of high-quality patient care the hallmarks of the UT Southwestern Health System. 

Our clinical faculty serve all those who entrust their care to us at William P. Clements Jr. University Hospital, Zale Lipshy University Hospital, at each of our clinics, and at our affiliated partners – Parkland Hospital, Children’s Health, and the Dallas VA Medical Center.  

In Fall 2018 UT Southwestern announced the launch of the first annual Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards, honoring those who embody the very best in clinical and institutional excellence.

Get to know the winners, who embody the very best in clinical and institutional excellence.

"The Leaders in Clinical Excellence Awards were conceived and created to recognize the exceptional contributions of our clinical faculty, and we hope they serve not only to honor those who have helped advance the Medical Center in its clinical and educational missions, but also to provide an inspiration for all of us in our service to patients."

Daniel K. Podolsky, M.D.

President, UT Southwestern Medical Center

The 2018 award winners have been announced. Please select a category below to see the honored winners.

The 2018 Award Winners:

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities consistently exemplify enthusiasm, commitment, professionalism, and leadership. Awardees will demonstrate exceptional clinical care beyond the level expected of an early-career clinician through a consistent pattern of high-quality care, clinical leadership, and innovation.

Institutional Service Award

This award honors clinical faculty who consistently share time and expertise in service to internal committees, task forces, and other institutional activities that make a significant impact on the care delivered to UT Southwestern patients. Recipients will demonstrate the patient-centered focus, organizational skills, and vision necessary to carry their work from the conference room to the clinics in a way that impacts patient outcomes.

Mentoring Award

This award celebrates clinicians who demonstrate exceptional commitment and effectiveness as a mentor to health care providers. Recipients are recognized not only for their clinical excellence, but also for their willingness to share time and expertise as they guide, nurture, and mentor medical students, residents, clinical staff, or other providers and colleagues.

Patient and Family Recognition Award

This award honors clinical faculty whose dedication to the compassionate, respectful delivery of exceptional patient care has garnered the highest degree of patient trust and satisfaction. Recipients will be faculty who are routinely honored by patients and family members through written feedback, commendations to UT Southwestern leaders, or other demonstrations of appreciation.

Program Development Award

This award celebrates the innovation and collaboration that are foundational to the success of UT Southwestern Medical Center. It recognizes a group of clinical faculty and staff who have partnered to create, develop, and sustain an innovative program that significantly advances our ability to improve the care received by our patients.

The President’s Award for Diversity and Humanism in Clinical Care

This award honors clinical faculty members who best embody the humanistic spirit of patient-centered medicine, both through clinical excellence and in outstanding compassion in the delivery of care. The recipients extend respect to patients, their families, and health care colleagues and lead by example in ethics, empathy, and an exceptional awareness of the value of diversity and inclusion.